The Périgord

The Dordogne, nature and culture

Dordogne Perigord

The Périgord is an old region of France, named after the capital, Périgueux. Until the French rĂ©volution, it was a county. After the revolution, it became a department, to which was given the name of the big river flowing through it: the Dordogne.

This department, with its thousand and one castles (see the castle of Beynac above), its caves, troglodytic shelters, abysses, counts more than 200 places listed as being part of the national heritage. The castle of Hautefort, Les Eyzies, Sarlat, La Madeleine, Bergerac, Le Moustier, La Roque-Gageac, the caves of Lascaux, the St. Front cathedral in PĂ©rigueux are but a few examples.

Badefols d'Ans